The Myrtos Beach is the trademark of Kefalonia. There is not one person in the world, which has chosen to visit Kefalonia and has not seen the beauty of Myrtos Beach.

After the earthquake of 1953 which caused severe damage, the Archeological Museum of Argostoli was founded in 1957 and was completed in 1960. In the year 2000 the building was fully restored by all the damage. The Archaeological Museum of Argostoli hosted findings from the prehistoric era. The museum has three galleries.

The major philhellene poet Lord Byron has lived in Kefalonia and concretely to Lakithra village. The poet was born in London on 1788 and in the 1823 was chosen as α representative to the Commission Assistance for the struggle of the Greeks against the Turkish slave.

The Castle of Agios Georgios (Saint George) is situated 5 km away from Argostoli, above the village Peratata on a hill about 300 m high. It is probably built in the 12th century AD by the Byzantine emperors.

The Cave of Drogarati is a must see attraction of Kefalonia. Discovered nearly 300 years ago, when a part fell into itself because of the powerful earthquake and thus created the current entrance.

The sinks in Kefalonia are one of the many geological attractions of Kefalonia, located at a distance of about 2 km away from Argostoli, in the cape of Agios Theodoros.

The Lake Cavern of Melissani is a unique geological phenomenon located 2 km northwest of Sami. The natural entrance of the cave is vertical (measuring 40x50 m) and was created by the collapse of a section of roof. Nowadays there is also an artificial entrance with stairs, which allows visitors to entry the lake cave.